What Equipment Do You Use

OnAir

Jun 15, 2020
I pretty much go with Wouxun for my scanning needs. I am a licensed HAM operator, however I do believe it's possible to have these units programmed for receive only. I'm not sure where that stacks up legally - although unless there's evidence otherwise it would seem if it was programmed to receive only and then given to a non-ham operator I can't see why it wouldn't be illegal.

Not quite the band coverage as the R6, but a lot cheaper too. If I was going to go with a dedicated scanner, I'd probably look at something that supports digital as well, for CFA, etc.

Railscan

Jun 10, 2020
I pretty much go with Wouxun for my scanning needs. I am a licensed HAM operator, however I do believe it's possible to have these units programmed for receive only. I'm not sure where that stacks up legally - although unless there's evidence otherwise it would seem if it was programmed to receive only and then given to a non-ham operator I can't see why it wouldn't be illegal.

Not quite the band coverage as the R6, but a lot cheaper too. If I was going to go with a dedicated scanner, I'd probably look at something that supports digital as well, for CFA, etc.
Possession of a radio that is not type approved, or for which you do not hold a current apparatus licence or other valid licence (amateur), is a breach of the Radiocommunications Act, it is not a defence if the radio is set to receive only. It still may render you liable to prosecution and seizure of the equipment is certain.

R

OnAir

Jun 15, 2020
Possession of a radio that is not type approved, or for which you do not hold a current apparatus licence or other valid licence (amateur), is a breach of the Radiocommunications Act, it is not a defence if the radio is set to receive only. It still may render you liable to prosecution and seizure of the equipment is certain.

R
Hi Railscan,